Cara Beth Satalino - Little Green *Pre-Order

Format: Vinyl LP

VAT included Delivery calculated at checkout



Release Date Friday 19th April 2024
All pre-orders will be dispatched/made ready for collection on that day.

Cara Beth Satalino built her adulthood in feral, eccentric Baltimore, Maryland, waiting tables and playing in a band, keeping her schedule flexible just in case an opportunity arose.  Though spontaneity seemed inevitable as an artist, she was stuck.  Paralyzed by her own assumptions of what a musician’s life needed to be, time passed undetectably- more songs written, more gigs played, tips in pocket on which to survive, undying hopes of “making it” in the music industry.  In a moment of frustration, Cara Beth left Baltimore to pursue further schooling.  Along with her partner Chester Gwazda- fellow member of indie band Outer Spaces, the couple moved to New Jersey only to be met with a chronic illness diagnosis for Cara Beth, a global pandemic, a surprise pregnancy, looming mental-health issues, and the inevitable obligation to quit school.  So much upheaval after fifteen years of a predictable lifestyle led to the creation of Little Green, a bold, stripped-back, ten-song distillation of identity out April 2024 on UK label Worried Songs.

Born in upstate New York, the breeding ground for America’s rich history of folk and settler traditions, Cara Beth was steeped in acoustic sounds from a young age.  Her father, an accomplished instrumentalist, colored her childhood with the vibrations of fiddle, banjo, guitars, and mandolin.  Though she had spent much of her indie rock career rarely allowing these influences to show, the unravelling of her life seemed like a perfect time to be honest about her musical framework- what shaped her, what built her.  As “Warmth of A Golden Sun” opens Little Green with what feels like a folk-rock dirge over Casio drum machine beats- Cara Beth offers a sonic analogy about her move from weird city life into warm analog intimacy. “Dandelion Weed” plants the listener firmly into her ecosystem of pedal steel and close-microphoned acoustic guitar, but with succinct rock drumming that gives the song’s spaciousness a sturdy foundation.  Though the influences of Fairport Convention, James Taylor and Sandy Denny are all opaquely present throughout the record, surprising twists like the Velvet Underground electricity of “Little Green” and the classic 70s country shuffle on “Time”, broaden the scope out of upstate New York into the eclectic artist she has become.Sitting above this spacious sonic palette is the obvious allure of Little Green- Cara Beth’s voice.  Anachronistic in ways that delight and confuse the listener, her vocal tones span centuries, from traditional mountain singing to hints of young Dolly Parton and the delivery of Gillian Welch.  With a disarming casualness paired with unexpected intensity she posits in “The Great Liberator,” “we don’t know who we are, I suppose we’re still learning.  It’s too dark to see what’s in front of me.  There’s a bright star burning, the earth is still turning,” while in “Outlaw” she outrightly declares, “I wanna be the one who doesn’t settle for fear of being seen for who they are, fear of falling down the big staircase, fear was written all over my face,” a desperately vulnerable revelation amidst her personal chaos.Little Green is proof that the loss of control can create new possibilities and uncover hidden beauty.  

No longer bearing the weight of her own expectations, Cara Beth Satalino is now empowered to share her most poignant music to date.  Unafraid to be honest about her frailties and private thoughts while reeling the listener into her inner workings, each song is an invitation to know her well.  Cara Beth Satalino has finally overcome her fear of being seen for who she is.

Track List

  1. Warmth of a Golden Sun
  2. Dandelion Weed
  3. The Great Liberator
  4. Little Green
  5. Wheel Song
  6. Time
  7. Outlaw
  8. Volvo Station Wagon
  9. Listen to the Words
  10. Daylight Savings


                  Thank you for looking at our listing, below are a few points to consider before making a purchase:

                  - All records we sell are Brand New - pre-orders will normally come sealed but if you are purchasing in stock items, please note the copy may have been unsealed for display in the shop. Please email straight after purchase to enquire if this is of importance to you.

                  - Orders won't ship until all items are released, so keep this in mind when purchasing multiple pre-orders or a mix of in stock and pre-order items.

                  - The 'Product' page will show the most up to date info we have with regards to the item and its release date, but this information is subject to change so check in with us if you have any questions.

                  - We unfortunately don't offer tax/vat outside of the UK via the website so please keep in mind that when the items arrives in your country you may be liable to pay a further charge before delivery. (all UK orders the price you see is the price you will pay). Please also note that we are unable to adjust the declared value on items sold internationally.

                    Payment & Security

                    American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Google Pay Maestro Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Union Pay Visa

                    Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

                    Estimate delivery

                    You may also like

                    Recently viewed