David Bowie – Loving The Alien 11 CD Box Set


Available on backorder

Categories: ,

Product Description

David Bowie
Loving The Alien
CD Box Set: £109.99

128 Page hardback book
Let’s Dance (remastered) (1CD)
Serious Moonlight (Live ’83) (previously unreleased) (2CD)
Tonight (remastered) (1CD)
Never Let Me Down (remastered) (1CD)
Never Let Me Down 2018 (previously unreleased) (1CD)*
Glass Spider (Live Montreal ’87) (2CD)
Dance (1CD)*
Re:Call 4 (non-album singles, edits, single versions, b-sides and soundtrack music) (remastered) (2CD)*

* Exclusive to ‘Loving The Alien (1983-1988)’
The CD box set will include faithfully reproduced mini-vinyl versions of the original albums, and the CDs will be gold coloured rather than the usual silver.

The follow-up to the awarding winning and critically acclaimed DAVID BOWIE ‘FIVE YEARS (1969 – 1973)’ and DAVID BOWIE ‘A NEW CAREER IN A NEW TOWN (1977 – 1982)’ will be released on 12th October.
The box contains newly remastered versions of David’s most commercially successful period ‘LET’S DANCE’, ‘TONIGHT’, ‘NEVER LET ME DOWN (ORIGINAL and 2018 VERSIONS)’, the live album ‘GLASS SPIDER (Live Montreal ’87)’, the previously unreleased ‘SERIOUS MOONLIGHT’ live album, a collection of original remixes entitled ‘DANCE’ and the non-album / alternate version / b-sides and soundtrack music compilation RE:CALL 4.
The highlight of this latest box is the brand new production of the 1987 album ‘NEVER LET ME DOWN’ by Bowie producer / engineer Mario McNulty with new instrumentation by Bowie collaborators Reeves Gabrels (guitar), David Torn (guitar), Sterling Campbell (drums), Tim Lefebvre (bass) as well as string quartet with arrangements by Nico Muhly and a guest cameo by Laurie Anderson on ‘Shining Star (Makin’ My Love)’.
The seeds of this new reimagining of the albums were first sown in 2008 when David asked Mario McNulty to remix the track ‘Time Will Crawl’ and record new drums by longtime Bowie drummer, Sterling Campbell along with strings. The track was issued on the iSelect compilation to much acclaim, and in the notes, for that record, David remarked ‘Oh, to redo the rest of that album’.
The new re-workings have revealed ‘Never Let Me Down’ as a very strong collection of songs with a dark thematic thread running through them. Fans listening to ‘NEVER LET ME DOWN (2018)’ would be forgiven for thinking that they were listening to a brand new ‘lost’ Bowie record.
Also in each box is the never before released ‘SERIOUS MOONLIGHT’ live album recorded in Montreal in 1983. Originally mixed at the time by Bob Clearmountain, the double album captures Bowie on what at that time was his most successful tour. The artwork features shots taken by photographer Denis O’Regan.
Exclusive to each box is ‘RE:CALL 4’ and ‘DANCE’. The former a new compilation featuring remastered contemporary single versions, non-album singles, album edits, b-sides and songs featured on soundtracks such as Labyrinth, Absolute Beginners and When The Wind Blows. ‘DANCE’ features 12 contemporaneous remixes some of which are appearing on CD and vinyl for the first time and is named after an unreleased Bowie remix album that was originally slated for release in November 1985.
The box set’s accompanying 84 page book features rarely seen and previously unpublished photos by photographers including Denis O’Regan, Greg Gorman, Herb Ritts and many others as well as historical press reviews and technical notes about the albums from producers/engineers Nile Rodgers, Hugh Padgham, Mario McNulty and Justin Shirley-Smith.



1. Modern Love
2. China Girl
3. Let’s Dance
4. Without You
5. Ricochet
6. Criminal World
7. Cat People (Putting Out Fire)
8. Shake It


1. Look Back In Anger
2. “Heroes”
3. What In The World
4. Golden Years
5. Fashion
6. Let’s Dance
7. Breaking Glass
8. Life On Mars?
9. Sorrow
10. Cat People (Putting Out Fire)
11. China Girl
12. Scary Monsters (And Super Creeps)
13. Rebel Rebel

1. White Light / White Heat
2. Station To Station
3. Cracked Actor
4. Ashes To Ashes
5. Space Oddity/Band Introduction
6. Young Americans
7. Fame
8. Modern Love


1. Loving The Alien
2. Don’t Look Down
3. God Only Knows
4. Tonight
5. Neighborhood Threat
6. Blue Jean
7. Tumble And Twirl
8. I Keep Forgettin’
9. Dancing With The Big Boys


1. Day-In Day-Out
2. Time Will Crawl
3. Beat Of Your Drum
4. Never Let Me Down
5. Zeroes
6. Glass Spider
7. Shining Star (Makin’ My Love) *Ft Laurie Anderson on NLMD2018
8. New York’s In Love
9. ’87 And Cry
10. Bang Bang


CD 1
1. Up The Hill Backwards
2. Glass Spider
3. Day-In Day-Out
4. Bang Bang
5. Absolute Beginners
6. Loving The Alien
7. China Girl
8. Rebel Rebel
9. Fashion
10. Scary Monsters (And Super Creeps)
11. All The Mad Men
12. Never Let Me Down

CD 2
1. Big Brother
2. ‘87 And Cry
3. “Heroes”
4. Sons Of The Silent Age
5. Time Will Crawl / Band Introduction
6. Young Americans
7. Beat Of Your Drum
8. The Jean Genie
9. Let’s Dance
10. Fame
11. Time
12. Blue Jean
13. Modern Love


1. Shake It (Re-mix aka Long Version)
2. Blue Jean (Extended Dance Mix)
3. Dancing With The Big Boys (Extended Dance Mix)
4. Tonight (Vocal Dance Mix)
5. Don’t Look Down (Extended Dance Mix)
6. Loving The Alien (Extended Dub Mix)
7. Tumble And Twirl (Extended Dance Mix)
8. Underground (Extended Dance Mix)
9. Day-In Day-Out (Groucho Mix)
1. 10.Time Will Crawl (Dance Crew Mix)
2. 11.Shining Star (Makin’ My Love) (12” mix)
3. 12.Never Let Me Down (Dub/Acapella)


CD 1
1. Let’s Dance (single version)
2. China Girl (single version)
3. Modern Love (single version)
4. This Is Not America (The theme from ‘The Falcon And The Snowman’) – David Bowie / Pat Metheny Group
5. Loving The Alien (re-mixed version)
6. Don’t Look Down (re-mixed version)
7. Dancing In The Street (Clearmountain mix) – David Bowie and Mick Jagger
8. Absolute Beginners (from Absolute Beginners)
9. That’s Motivation (from Absolute Beginners)
10. Volare (from Absolute Beginners)
11. Labyrinth Opening Titles/Underground (from Labyrinth)
12. Magic Dance (from Labyrinth)
13. As The World Falls Down (from Labyrinth)
14. Within You (from Labyrinth)
15. Underground (from Labyrinth)

CD 2
1. When The Wind Blows (single version) (from When The Wind Blows)
2. Day-In Day-Out (single version)
3. Julie
4. Beat Of Your Drum (vinyl album edit)
5. Glass Spider (vinyl album edit)
6. Shining Star (Makin’ My Love) (vinyl album edit)
7. New York’s In Love (vinyl album edit)
8. ‘87 And Cry (vinyl album edit)
9. Bang Bang (vinyl album edit)
10. Time Will Crawl (single version)
11. Girls (extended edit)
12. Never Let Me Down (7” remix edit)
13. Bang Bang (live – promotional mix)
14. Tonight (live) Tina Turner with David Bowie
15. Let’s Dance (live) Tina Turner with David Bowie

Additional Information

Weight 100 g