Neil Young – Songs For Judy: CD Album or Double Vinyl LP *Pre-Order


SKU: N/A Categories: , , , , ,

Product Description

Release Dates: CD –  Friday 30th November, 2LP – Friday 14th December
All pre-orders will be dispatched/ready for collection on that date.

Neil Young
Songs For Judy

CD Album (release date Friday 30th November) £11.99
Double Vinyl LP* (release date Friday 14th December) £23.99
*Two 12” 140 gram Black vinyl disc in plain white paper sleeves in case-wrapped gatefold jacket.


01 Songs for Judy (Intro)

02 Too Far Gone

03 No One Seems to Know

04 Heart of Gold

05 White Line

06 Love Is a Rose

07 After the Gold Rush

08 Human Highway

09 Tell Me Why

10 Mr. Soul

11 Mellow My Mind

12 Give Me Strength

13 A Man Needs a Maid

14 Roll Another Number

15 Journey Through the Past

16 Harvest

17 Campaigner

18 Old Laughing Lady

19 The Losing End

20 Here We Are In the Years

21 The Needle and the Damage Done

22 Pocahontas

23 Sugar Mountain

Songs For Judy is the debut release on Shakey Pictures Records, Young’s own imprint distributed by Reprise Records. Songs For Judy is thoroughly engaging collection of live acoustic performances culled from Neil’s November 1976 solo tour and features twenty-two songs recorded at various cities along the tour. This song cycle of live recordings is particularly powerful and unique. Young had spent much of the year traveling around the world on tour with Crazy Horse. When touring on his own, he recharged and focused on songs that would not surface in recorded form for several years. Of the albums many treasures, “No One Seems To Know” would not see the light of day until now and it remains unreleased in any other iteration.

The raw versions of the tracks found on Songs For Judy reflect an artist completely unvarnished and unafraid to allow the songs to breath and to find their own shape when performed in a solo setting. Songs written in that era would come into focus and then seemingly disappear only to re-enter Young’s orbit somewhere down the road. “White Line” and “Give Me Strength” are such examples of finding the light in 1990 and 2017 respectively. It’s also fascinating to hear Young revisit early gems such as Springfield’s “Mr. Soul” (’67), “Here We Are In The Years” (’68), and “The Losing End” (’69) from some of his earliest solo recordings which remain as timeless as ever.

Additional Information

Weight 550 g
Select Format:

CD Album £11.99, Double Vinyl LP £23.99