Deary - Fairground EP

Format: Indies Exclusive Green Vinyl 10"

VAT included Delivery calculated at checkout

Sold out


Deary - Fairground EP

London-based dreampop duo deary gather together three rides on their hugely acclaimed debut single ‘Fairground’ for a new EP, which is released on a limited-edition green vinyl 10” as well as digitally on May 5. ‘Fairground’ was initially released at the end of January and it was amazing to watch people fall in love with it in real time. To date, it has been played everywhere from BBC Radio 6 Music to KEXP in Seattle and Double J in Australia. It was a Hot One on John Kennedy’s X-Posure show on Radio X and has been playlisted on Amazing Radio. There has also been amazing coverage courtesy of Clash, Brooklyn Vegan, Atwood Magazine, God Is In The TV, Far Out and more. A limited-edition run of 7”s sold out in just two hours. The new EP will be more widely available and features a new remix by Saint Etienne, alongside two very different reworkings by the band themselves.The Extended Mix stretches out the trip-hop grooves of the original for a longer, more immersive listen, while the Hide In Glass Mix is a much darker affair.

“It was fun putting the guitars down for once, playing around with different synths instead,” says Ben, one half of deary. “There’s a bit of ‘Love’s Easy Tears’ in there, but equally there’s something to tap your feet to, which is what it’s all about isn’t it?” The Saint Etienne remix was inspired by the original track’s slow and low 98bpm shuffle, which was reminiscent of the post-club comedown tracks collected on last year’s Bob Stanley and Pete Wiggs-curated Fell From The Sun compilation. “I got into ‘Foxbase Alpha’ in a big way while studying at Goldsmiths via the Dusty Springfield sample on ‘Nothing Can Stop Us’,” says Ben on why Saint Etienne were dream remixers. “I love that record; the drum samples and the pop sensibilities were a real inspiration for both ‘Fairground’ and deary as a whole. “We absolutely love their reworking of ‘Fairground’, it’s really trippy and such a joy to have them work on our stuff. A thousand thank yous to them and Augustin.”

A1. Fairground (Extended Mix)
B1. Fairground (Saint Etienne Meet Augustin Bousfield At The Top Of Town Mix)
B2. Fairground (Hide In Glass Mix)


          Thank you for looking at our listing, below are a few points to consider before making a purchase:

          - All records we sell are Brand New - pre-orders will normally come sealed but if you are purchasing in stock items, please note the copy may have been unsealed for display in the shop. Please email straight after purchase to enquire if this is of importance to you.

          - Orders won't ship until all items are released, so keep this in mind when purchasing multiple pre-orders or a mix of in stock and pre-order items.

          - The 'Product' page will show the most up to date info we have with regards to the item and its release date, but this information is subject to change so check in with us if you have any questions.

          - We unfortunately don't offer tax/vat outside of the UK via the website so please keep in mind that when the items arrives in your country you may be liable to pay a further charge before delivery. (all UK orders the price you see is the price you will pay). Please also note that we are unable to adjust the declared value on items sold internationally.

            Payment & Security

            American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Google Pay Maestro Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Union Pay Visa

            Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

            You may also like

            Recently viewed