Format: Limited Ruby Red & Cobalt Blue Double Vinyl LP

VAT included Delivery calculated at checkout



Release Date Friday 23rd January 2024
All pre-orders will be dispatched/made ready for collection on that day.

Ba Da Bing is releasing the soundtrack to 2022’s paeon to cuisine prepFlux Gourmet. A vibrant, four-coursed, 23-track double album, Flux Gourmet includes contributions by Heather TrostJeremy BarnesMarta SalogniCavern of Anti-Matter, and Roj (Broadcast), as well as Strickland’s own compositions as part of The Sonic Catering Band.
British Director and sonic pioneer, Peter Strickland, known for The Duke of Burgundy (2014)Berberian Sound Studio (2012) and Björk: Biophilia Live (2014), has always pushed visuals and narrative to absurd heights. In Flux Gourmet, performance artists taking part in a residency dedicated to sonic catering combining cooking, sound and theater. Food is amplified, microphones are jammed against blenders, and the sizzling sound of the frier turns becomes an ominous rattle. The film’s soundtrack is equally as process oriented, experimental, and kaleidoscopic as its protagonists’ practice. 
Contributors are Cavern of Anti-MatterJeremy BarnesHeather TrostRoj (formerly of Broadcast), Tim HarrisonDan Hayhurst and Nurse With Wound

In Peter Strickland’s Flux Gourmet, a dysfunctional group of performance artists undertake a month-long residency at an institute devoted to culinary disciplines. Food is interrogated for its sonic potential as the group mic-up, amplify, distort and transform what they cook in front of an audience. The noise that the characters in the film itself make is driven by food blenders, overflowing cauldrons of gurgling soup and sizzling frying pans (courtesy of The Sonic Catering Band), yet the music that soundtracks the culinary capers is engorged with aching melodies and wordless, airy vocals. Contributors include Cavern of Anti-Matter, Jeremy Barnes and Heather Trost of A Hawk and a Hacksaw and Trost’s band, Roj (formerly of Broadcast), and Nurse With Wound. Flux Gourmet is presented in a lush 2xLP package with an ornate, colorful design and Strickland’s detailed liner notes.

Image, color, light and sound are integrated and heightened to delirious levels of hyperreality, much like Strickland’s past works, Berberian Sound Studio and In FabricFlux Gourmet very much alludes to his past as a member of The Sonic Catering Band, which he founded back in 1996. The band split on several occasions and got back together to create new pieces for the soundtrack, concocting strange sonic morsels and treating recipes as if they were scores. The lines between what is on the screen and what is on the soundtrack are blurred, with the band (mostly) using the exact same equipment (which they loaned to the production) and recipes as in the film. However, for all the conceptual rigour on display, the music on the Flux Gourmet is ultimately in pursuit of catharsis, as one character concedes. The power of music and/or noise to purge and cleanse its makers (and hopefully, listeners) of their ills and woes


Side A:
A1. Heather Trost - Early Gardens 
A2. Roj - Trip to the Shops 
A3. The Sonic Catering Band - Death Borscht
A4. The Sonic Catering Band - The Third Gastric Surge of the Night
A4. Jeremy Barnes - The Funeral Table

Side B:
B1. The Sonic Catering Band - Greed
B2. The Sonic Catering Band - HLA-DQ8
B3. Heather Trost -  Early Gardens (earlier) 
B4. Roj - Trip to the Shops
B5. Nurse with Wound - Hindu Monastery Breakfast
B6. Tim Harrison - Ohmlette’s Law

Side C:
C1. The Sonic Catering Band - Vegetable Trash
C2. The Sonic Catering Band - A Sedimental Journey
C3. The Sonic Catering Band - Baron von Omelette
C4. The Sonic Catering Band - Dossier de Canteen
C5. Cavern of Anti- Matter - Insufflation Tube
C6. Jeremy Barnes - The Funeral Table
C7. The Sonic Catering Band - A Pain I Can’t Hold In

Side D:
D1. Heather Trost - Early Gardens (earliest)
D2.Dan Hayhurst -  Monday Service
D3. Marta Salogni - Cross-Contamination
D4. Roj - Trip to the Shops (closing down)
D5. Jeremy Barnes -  The Funeral Table (demonstration)


                          Thank you for looking at our listing, below are a few points to consider before making a purchase:

                          - All records we sell are Brand New - pre-orders will normally come sealed but if you are purchasing in stock items, please note the copy may have been unsealed for display in the shop. Please email straight after purchase to enquire if this is of importance to you.

                          - Orders won't ship until all items are released, so keep this in mind when purchasing multiple pre-orders or a mix of in stock and pre-order items.

                          - The 'Product' page will show the most up to date info we have with regards to the item and its release date, but this information is subject to change so check in with us if you have any questions.

                          - We unfortunately don't offer tax/vat outside of the UK via the website so please keep in mind that when the items arrives in your country you may be liable to pay a further charge before delivery. (all UK orders the price you see is the price you will pay). Please also note that we are unable to adjust the declared value on items sold internationally.

                            Payment & Security

                            American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Google Pay Maestro Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Union Pay Visa

                            Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

                            Estimate delivery

                            You may also like

                            Recently viewed