Marcia Griffiths - Essential Artist Collection

Format: Green Double Vinyl LP

VAT included Delivery calculated at checkout

In stock

Limited to max. 2 per customer


Marcia Griffiths - Essential Artist Collection

Arguably the greatest female singer in the history of Jamaican music, Marcia Griffiths first made her mark the Jamaican music scene with a number of popular singles during the late Sixties, before finding international fame in 1970 alongside
her long-term friend and sometime collaborator, Bob Andy.

Bob & Marcia’s uplifting reggae version of Nina Simone’s inspiring song, ‘(To Be) Young, Gifted & Black’ hit number 5 in the UK pop chart, with the single proving to be the first of two British chartbusters, with their exuberant interpretation of Pied
Piper’ just missing out on a Top 10 placing the following year. 

Soon after, Marcia became a member of Bob Marley’s famed backing group, the I-Threes, while also continuing to enjoy solo success with numerous Jamaican hits for a variety of record producers throughout the remainder of the Seventies and
well beyond. And it is the very best of her solo work that features on this ‘Essential Artist’ compilation, the latest release in Trojan Records’ newly launched range that showcases the work of Jamaica’s best-loved ‘foundation’ artists.

Available as a 28-track double vinyl LP and a comprehensive 2CD compilation, the collection expertly demonstrates just why Marcia Griffiths is today widely regarded as a Jamaican legend.

Side A
1. I'm Hurting Inside
2. We've Got to Get Ourselves Together (with Bob Andy)
3. Peaceful Woman
4. The First Time Ever I Saw Your Face
5. Steppin' Out of Babylon
6. I See You, My Love
7. Sweet Brown Sugar
Side B
1. Put a Little Love In Your Heart
2. Survival (Is the Game)
3. Pied Piper (with Bob Andy)
4. Feel Like Jumping
5. Play Me
6. Tell Me Now
7. Your Love (with Bob Andy)
Side C
1. Dreamland (aka My Dream Island)
2. Sweet Bitter Love
3. Melody Life
4. I Don't Care (with Bob Andy)
5. Mark My Word
6. I Just Don't Want to Be Lonely
7. Truly
Side D
1. To Be Young Gifted and Black (with Bob Andy)
2. Working to the Top (My Ambition), Pt. One
3. But I Do
4. Sugar Wooga Man
5. There's No Me Without You
6. Don't Ever Leave
7. You Are Mine (with Bob Andy)



                Thank you for looking at our listing, below are a few points to consider before making a purchase:

                - All records we sell are Brand New - pre-orders will normally come sealed but if you are purchasing in stock items, please note the copy may have been unsealed for display in the shop. Please email straight after purchase to enquire if this is of importance to you.

                - Orders won't ship until all items are released, so keep this in mind when purchasing multiple pre-orders or a mix of in stock and pre-order items.

                - The 'Product' page will show the most up to date info we have with regards to the item and its release date, but this information is subject to change so check in with us if you have any questions.

                - We unfortunately don't offer tax/vat outside of the UK via the website so please keep in mind that when the items arrives in your country you may be liable to pay a further charge before delivery. (all UK orders the price you see is the price you will pay). Please also note that we are unable to adjust the declared value on items sold internationally.

                  Payment & Security

                  American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Google Pay Maestro Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Union Pay Visa

                  Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

                  Estimate delivery

                  You may also like

                  Recently viewed