Metavari - ABSURDA (Music Reimagined in the Short Films of David Lynch) LP Limited RSD2019


VAT included Delivery calculated at checkout

In stock


Metavari - ABSURDA (Music Reimagined in the Short Films of David Lynch) "First ever reissue! Limited to 1,000 copies Deluxe reverse-board printed jacket with a custom die-cut center hole Includes an 8 page booklet Metavari, the moniker of American composer and electronic musician Nathaniel David Utesch introduces his new album: ’ABSURDA: Music Reimagined in the Short Films of David Lynch’. The album contains 12 tracks, each of which have been scored in unison to a collection of short works from filmmaker David Lynch. Spanning Lynch’s career, the films represent a breadth from student work (e.g., ‘Six Figures Getting Sick’ and ’The Alphabet’) to contemporary pieces like the title track, ‘Absurda’, and his now infamous animations: ‘Industrial Soundscape’ and ‘Dream #7’. ‘ABSURDA’ plays through as thoughtfully as the rest of Metavari’s synth-heavy catalog, but there’s an evolution here that explores a deeper level of experimentation. It is a chaotic collage of sound, rhythm, and melody; weaving through both harmonious passages and abrasive acousmatic sound. An almost “plunderphonic” execution of MIDI sequencing and percussion utilizing PCM synths and foley samples. It’s clear that Metavari has found himself on a new path as he carves his niche in electronic music. Metavari describes the process as a “scribbling on top” of Lynch’s films. “I’ve followed David Lynch’s career my entire adult life; cherished pages from a series of love letters that feel like they were written just for me. This project is the semblance of what I’ve scribbled, in my own language, on top of those letters as I write back to the man who has inspired me more than he’ll ever know.” The album comes packaged in a deluxe reverse-board printed jacket with a custom die-cut center hole, also included is a special 8-page booklet and digital download card. This LP (CLEAR vinyl) is strictly limited to 1000 copies worldwide. Released exclusively for Record Store Day 2019, available in participating stores on April 13. Tracklist: 01. Six Figures Getting Sick (Six Times) 02. Absurd Encounter with Fear 03. The Alphabet 04. Industrial Soundscape 05. Absurda 06. Interlude from Absurda 07. Premonitions Following and Evil Deed 08. Dream #7 09. Dream #7 (Coda) 10. Blue Green 11. The 3 Rs 12. Ballerina "

Payment & Security

American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Google Pay Maestro Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Union Pay Visa

Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

Estimate delivery

You may also like

Recently viewed