Protomartyr - The Agent Intellect

CD Album: Black Vinyl LP

VAT included Delivery calculated at checkout

Sold out


Protomartyr - The Agent Intellect

Vinyl LP £15.99

Track Listings
1. The Devil In His Youth
2. Cowards Starve
3. I Forgive You
4. Boyce or Boice
5. Pontiac 87
6. Uncle Mother?s
7. Dope Cloud
8. The Hermit
9. Clandestine Time
10. Why Does It Shake?
11. Ellen
12. Feast Of Stephen

The Agent Intellect' is Protomartyrs third album. Named after an ancient philosophical questioning of how the mind operates in relation to the self, it's an elegant and often devastating display of all that makes Protomartyr so vital and singularly visceral an outfit. Over the course of several months, Greg Ahee waded through more than a hundred song fragments until he reached the bottomless melodies of 'I Forgive You' and 'Clandestine Time', the inky depths of 'Pontiac '87' and titanic churn of 'Why Does It Shake?' Lyrically, Casey is at his most confident and haunting. He humanizes evil on 'The Devil in His Youth', and, amid the charred pop of 'Dope Cloud', he reassures us that nothing-not God, not money-can or will prevent our minds from unraveling until we finally fade away. We are no one and nothing, he claims, without our thoughts. It's a theme that echoes through the entirety of the record, but never as beautifully as it does on 'Ellen'. Named after his mother and written from the perspective of his late father, it's as romantic a song as you re likely to hear this or any year, Casey promising to wait for her on the other side, with the memories she's lost safely in hand.


Payment & Security

American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Google Pay Maestro Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Visa

Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

You may also like

Recently viewed