Shannon Lay - Geist: Sun Yellow LP

Select Format:: Sun Yellow Vinyl LP

VAT included Delivery calculated at checkout

Sold out


Shannon Lay - Geist

Sun Yellow Vinyl £22.99

1. Rare to Wake
2. A Thread to Find
3. Sure
4. Shores
5. Awaken and Allow
6. Geist
7. Untitled
8. Late Night
9. Time’s Arrow
10. July

Featuring an impressive list of collaborators, including Ty Segall and members of Woods, Cibo Matto, Sharon Van Etten’s band, Wand, Heatwarmer, Mega Bog and Bonnie “Prince” Billy, ‘Geist’ is the follow-up to Shannon Lay’s 2019 Sub Pop debut, ‘August’, which featured friends and collaborators Ty Segal (whose band Shannon played in) and Mikal Cronin.

‘Geist’ feels like a window - or a mirror - into possibilities of the self and beyond. Shannon Lay’s new album is tender intensity, placeless and ethereal. It exists in the chasms of the present -- a world populated by shadow selves, spiritual awakenings, déjà vu and past lives. “Something sleeps inside us,” Lay insists on the opening track, and that’s the guiding philosophy throughout. A winding, golden, delicate thread of intuition that explores the unknown, the possibility. Its title, ‘Geist’, the German word for spirit, is rife with an otherworldly presence, the suggestion of another. The promise that you are never alone.

Lay tracked vocals and guitar at Jarvis Tavinere of Woods’ studio, then sent the songs out to multi-instrumentalists Ben Boye (Bonnie “Prince” Billy, Ty Segall) in Los Angeles and Devin Hoff (Sharon Van Etten, Cibo Matto) in New York; trusting their musical instincts and intuition. She then sent those recordings to Sofia Arreguin (Wand) and Aaron Otheim (Heatwarmer, Mega Bog) for additional keys, while Ty Segall contributed a guitar solo on ‘Shores’.

As a whole, ‘Geist’ is both esoteric and accessible. Songs range from a concise, pared-back cover of Syd Barrett’s tilt-a-whirl-esque ‘Late Night’, to the meditative, Dune-inspired ‘Rare to Wake’, to the mostly a-cappella ‘Awaken and Allow’, which channels Lay’s deep Irish roots, a moment of reflection, before a drop happens - its intensity mirroring the anticipation and anxiety that come with taking the first step to accepting change for yourself. And the title track ‘Geist’, a song about the power living in all of us, is a love song to the possibility of healing, an ode to falling into the arms of what you’re becoming. It’s a glimpse into the parts of yourself you have yet to meet.

Payment & Security

American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Google Pay Maestro Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Union Pay Visa

Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

You may also like

Recently viewed