Format: White Vinyl LP

VAT included Delivery calculated at checkout

Sold out



Some people have commented that Tinariwen have always been a country band,
albeit a North African take on that most North American of genres. That idea is
magnified on new album Amatssou, which finds the Tuareg band’s trademark
snaking guitar lines and hypnotic rhythms blending seamlessly with pedal steel,
piano and strings from guest musicians including Daniel Lanois, the embellished
arrangements lending the songs an epic, universal application.
Full of poetic allegory, the lyrics call for unity and freedom. There are songs of
struggle and resistance with oblique references to the recent desperate political
upheavals in Mali and the increasing power of the Salafists. “Dear brothers all
rest, all leisure will always be far from reach unless your homeland is liberated
and all the elders can live there in dignity,” Ibrahim Ag Alhabib sings on
‘Arajghiyine.’ The album’s title Amatssou is Tamashek for ‘Beyond The Fear’ and
it fits - Tinariwen have always been characterised by their fearlessness - and as
Bob Dylan once said, the power of rock’n’roll is that it makes us “oblivious to the
fear” as the music gives us the strength and resilience to confront adversity.
In the two decades since Tinariwen emerged from their base in the African
desert to tour the globe, they have got to know many renowned country, folk, and
rock musicians from the USA including Kurt Vile, Stephen O'Malley, Jack White,
and Wilco. Tuareg nomads and cowboy drifters. Camel trains and mustang horses. The timeless horizon of the endless Sahara and the wild frontier of the Old West - several thousand miles of ocean may divide the desert blues of Tinariwen and the authentic country music of rural America but the links are as palpable as they are romantic.

Vinyl Tracklist:
1. Kek Alghalm
2. Tenere Den
3. Arajghiyine
4. Tidjit
5. Jayche Atarak
6. Imidiwan Mahitinam
7. Ezlan
8. Anemouhagh
9. Iket Adjen
10. Nak Idnizdjam

CD Tracklist:
1. Kek Algham
2. Tenere Den
3. Arajghiyine
4. Imzad (Interlude)
5. Tidjit
6. Jayche Atarak
7. Imidiwan Mahitinam
8. Imzad 2 (Interlude)
9. Ezlan
10. Anemouhagh
11. Iket Adjen
12. Nak Idnizdjam
13. Tinde (Outro)


            Thank you for looking at our listing, below are a few points to consider before making a purchase:

            - All records we sell are Brand New - pre-orders will normally come sealed but if you are purchasing in stock items, please note the copy may have been unsealed for display in the shop. Please email straight after purchase to enquire if this is of importance to you.

            - Orders won't ship until all items are released, so keep this in mind when purchasing multiple pre-orders or a mix of in stock and pre-order items.

            - The 'Product' page will show the most up to date info we have with regards to the item and its release date, but this information is subject to change so check in with us if you have any questions.

            - We unfortunately don't offer tax/vat outside of the UK via the website so please keep in mind that when the items arrives in your country you may be liable to pay a further charge before delivery. (all UK orders the price you see is the price you will pay). Please also note that we are unable to adjust the declared value on items sold internationally.

              Payment & Security

              American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Google Pay Maestro Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Union Pay Visa

              Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

              You may also like

              Recently viewed